A Free Andy’s Frozen Custard Sundae

Long story short, I was at Block 37. I had just come from the ladies room and was making my way to the CTA when I was jumped (ok, STARTLED) by an employee from Andy’s Frozen Custard.

“FREE SUNDAES AT ANDY’S CUSTARD! Just tell’em I sent you!”

WHAT. FREE SUNDAE? FREE? MY FAVORITE PRICE.
EVER.
EVAR.
EVAAAAAARRRRRRRR.

Andy's Front

Andy’s Frozen Custard is located on the ‘Pedway Level’ of Block 37, a building the size of a city block with stores and restaurants (and CTA!).

Strawberry Custard Sundae

I went in and ordered. A free frozen custard sundae with my choice of one free topping. I’ve had Andy’s before and I must say, it tastes great with strawberries! Another lady looked at my order as it was prepared and CHANGED hers to be exactly like mine. Strawberries are magical.

Strawberry Frozen Custard

I’m sure I looked odd when I took the CTA red line train with my FREE strawberry custard sundae. And I knew people were staring and thinking, “It’s below freezing and you’re eating a sundae, you mad person.” But it was free! And it tasted great, let me tell you that. Instead of straight up ice cream, it’s frozen custard so when you eat it, it’s not hard as a rock and has a creamy consistency. A light, vanilla, slightly egg-y taste.

Before going to the CTA, I heard that Andy’s frequently gives away free sundaes and they have given away so much that Beard Papa’s (an AWESOME cream puff store that is located across from Andy’s) started complaining that their giveaways is affecting their business! Uh oh, it sounds like a battle war cry! Makes me wonder what Auntie Ann’s Pretzels is thinking since they’re also next to them.

Andy’s Frozen Custard
Located in the Pedway Level of Block 37
108 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60602
(312) 422-9800
http://www.eatandys.com

Gallery | This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Free Andy’s Frozen Custard Sundae

  1. Betty says:

    Uh oh, more food soul mate talk, cos you’re not the only one who eats frozen treats in winter (hence my ice-cream making). I mean, who wants to eat ice cream during the summer when it’s melting all over your napkin and onto your hand? Right?
    I’d love to read what you think about Beard Papa’s (aside from “AWESOME” lol)!

    • eatfoodnao says:

      Beard Papa’s is awesommmmeee! And yes, it makes sense to eat frozen treats in the winter to avoid ice cream melting! I hadn’t even thought of that until you mentioned it. 😀

  2. Hi, just required you to know I he added your site to my Google bookmarks due to your layout. But seriously, I believe your internet site has 1 in the freshest theme I??ve came across. It extremely helps make reading your blog significantly easier.

Leave a Reply

