Go for the Crisp, Stay for the Fried Chicken

There’s a Korean wave, making its way through the nation as constituents discover the joy of eating Korean food. All I’ve got to say is it’s about freaking time. Korean fried chicken here we come!

Image taken from Google

Crisp is one of the more well known fried chicken places in Chicago. It’s the home of Korean fried chicken aka fried chicken with a Korean flair. The restaurant is small, with long wooden picnic tables for customers to sit on.

Image taken from Google

There’s funky names to a simple bibimbap dish, a bowl of white rice that can be topped with a combination of meat, vegetables, gochujang sauce (red chili paste) and a raw egg. Personally, I don’t think I’ll ever order any bibimbap dish at Crisp. Why? Because…

Photo from saykimchirecruiting.com

I prefer dolsot (stone pot) bibimbap because the rice underneath gets nice and crunchy from the heat of the bowl. When you mix everything together, your meal continues to cook and meld together. Plus, many Koreans who’ve reviewed Crisp via Yelp said that their bibimbaps and Korean styled burritos weren’t that great. I’m inclined to take their advice seriously because I’ve never run into a Korean person who wasn’t passionate about their Korean food. It’s always very serious business. Hence, we’re staying for the chicken.

Plain Jane Wings

My awesome dining companion B and I ran into the establishment, ordered our food and sat down to eat. As luck would have it, great minds think alike. A friend of mine and their crew were also dining at Crisp that particular day so it was fate that we would all meet over glorious fried chicken. B ordered their wings aka “wacky wacky wings” without any sauce a la “Plain Jane” flavor. Ridiculous in size? Check. Awesome crisp exterior? Check. By the way, B ordered some fries on the side. The fries are not that great, skip it.

Buffalo Wings

My other dining companion aka diner T had some wings left over and graciously let me sample the “wacky wacky wings” as they were too stuffed to eat anymore. Correct me if I’m wrong, but I think these were the buffalo flavored wings. These were large in size, had great sauce coverage on them and was very finger licking good. I enjoyed the spiciness of the sauce, so get this if you’re into the intense flavors of buffalo. Diner T mentioned they preferred the sassy sauce over the buffalo and I’m inclined to agree with them.

Whole chicken, half sassy, half plain

I ordered a whole chicken, half plain jane, half sassy seoul sauced. Now why did I do that? Because I intended to save some chicken for BE later on. The plain jane was great. Crispy, juicy and well flavored. The sassy seoul sauced chicken was wonderful. Crisp describes their sauce as a “ginger, soy, garlic and other select spices” crowd favorite. I can see why. The sauce compliments the chicken well and doesn’t overpower the taste of the chicken. Personally, I loved the green onions that topped the chicken. Crisp needs to bottle their sassy seoul sauce, stat. And please send a bottle over to me as credit for that idea. 🙂

Crisp
2940 N Broadway Ave
Chicago, IL 60657
(773) 697-7610
http://www.crisponline.com

This entry was posted in American, Korean and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Go for the Crisp, Stay for the Fried Chicken

  1. Betty says:

    Reading that review makes me want to run to Crisp again. I haven’t been back since due to time and life getting in my way. Maybe this weekend, though! Oh wait… Uptown Ribfest. Choices, choices…. >_<

Leave a Reply

