While the blog was Temporarily AWOL, I was eating at the Time Out Chicago Food Truck Social

I love food trucks, period. I was very ecstatic to hear that Time Out Chicago was hosting a Food Truck Social so I just HAD to go. Here’s to bringing about the popularity of food trucks, yahoo!

TOC Food Truck Social

Signage for the event, hanging on the a fence.

Sign 1

There were two lots of food trucks. Here’s the north lot….

Lines for North Lot

And how it looked overall… with lines and everything…

South Lot

Now the south lot…

Lines in South Lot

And its respective lines too.

Sponsors

And these sponsors, can’t forget the sponsors!

Berstein's NY Deli Truck

Diner A and I were struck at how long lines were in the north lot so we decided to try out a truck with a smaller line: Bergstein’s NY Deli Truck.

Bergstein's Signage

For those who don’t know, current Chicago food truck laws dictate that all food on food trucks must be prepared in a legitimate (licensed I believe?) kitchen, off truck. So all the food being served at this event was made somewhere else and then brought onto the truck for distribution. Here was Bergstein’s menu.

Potato Knish

I got a potato knish, a baked or fried dough dumpling filled with potato.

Corned beef close up

Diner A got the corned beef on rye with swiss? cheese.

Potato knish and corned beef

The potato knish was okay, though I thought it would’ve tasted great if it was straight out of a fryer, but alas, food has to be prepared off site. I wished there was some sauce too, but I don’t know much about knish so I chalked this up to be a new experience to explore. Diner A’s sandwich was awesome in flavor and small in size. While it looked like the same size as the knish, it was actually half a sandwich for $5. While I thought it was a bit stiff to charge $5 for half a sandwich, I recognize that sometimes you have to charge more, especially with that amazing meat! This meat is the real deal people, this man means business. We also got mustard with the sandwich and tasted wonderful with the meat.

Stephanie Izard in the house

Oh hey, it’s Stephanie Izard from the Girl and Goat! Did I mention there were some local celebrity chefs at this event? They were selling some other foodstuffs too.

Wagyu Wagon

We gave up on the north lot because either the lines were ridiculous or trucks ran out of food. Yes, they ran out. So Diner A and I hatched a strategy on attaining more food. Diner A took on the large line that was forming outside of the Wagyu Wagon and I took on the line at the Bridgeport Pasty food truck.

Lines for South Lot

More line-age. Goodness.

Sloppy Joe from Wagyu Wagon

Diner A got their food before I did and I was in line way longer for the Bridgeport Pasty than they were, bummer! Here we have the Wagyu Wagon’s sloppy joe. I’m guessing it was made of wagyu beef, hence the name of the truck. The sloppy joe was really good, probably the best I’ve ever had. It was also small so it made for quick eating. It was also priced at $5 too, but you know, for a wagyu beef sloppy joe, it was darn good.

Bridgeport Pasty Signage

While Diner A and I were eating our sloppy joe, we waited in line for the Bridgeport Pasty to open up. They were waiting for a delivery of pasties and had put a time stamp on when it’d open up. And scratched off the time stamp and replaced it with another time stamp of arrival… and repeated this about 1-2 more times… aye carumba.

Truck Sign for Bridgeport Pasty

They have a cute little truck with a side door that opened up to reveal a menu and places to store their food. The line finally started moving when a lady brought over some trays and business was restored. While the line was moving, I realized that their pasties was $8 each and almost crapped myself.

Yooper Pasty from Bridgeport Pasty

Thus, we decided on the Yooper Pasty, which was filled with beef, potato and rutabaga. Yes, RUTABAGA!! Who would’ve THUNK (thought) of that? Came at me from left field. Did I mention this pasty was huge?! We’re talking calzone-like big. Half a small-ish pizza. Wowzers.

The pasties come in a nicely printed wrapping with an ingredient list to boot. There’s even beer and soy sauce in this pasty!

Close up yooper pasty

Diner A particularly liked the meaty filling of the pasty while I thoroughly enjoyed the flaky pasty exterior. The crust was buttery and savory, incredibly tasty. The filling was meaty and not too salty, just right. I was, and still am, amused that rutabaga was in this pasty filling. Ingenious.

Overall, this event was very successful, but I thought the wait lines were really insane and some of the portions were quite small for the prices. I’m hoping that if TOC hosts again, that they bring in more food trucks and expand the space as the lots the food trucks were parked in became very cramped in a short span of time. Here’s hoping for another food truck social next year!

This entry was posted in American and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

