Phở 888 Might Become My New Favorite Place for Phở (Chicago, IL)

I needed some phở and was starving. BE, Diner B and I wanted to try out another phở place and decided on Phở 888. I’d previously eaten here on someone’s recommendation, but didn’t have the chance to savor the food, nor did I remember much about my meal.

Phở 888 sign

Another chance to eat more phở!

Leftover food

Some folks were here earlier and left a lot of food on the table. What a bummer!

Steve Dolinsky

As usual, Mr. Dolinsky’s picture is in this fine establishment. It’s like he’s one step ahead of me! At least we share good tastes in food. 🙂

Phở with grilled beef

BE ordered the phở with grilled beef and gave it a thumbs up. The beef was very tasty and tender.

Phở w/ Everything

Diner B ordered the phở with everything in it (medium rare eye round, well done beef, soft tendon, beef tripe and meatballs). Diner B is a carnivore so they really pigged out on this meal and enjoyed all the meat items in dish.

Close of pho meat

A close up of the tender meat.

Phở w/ everything #2

I ordered the phở with everything in it as well (medium rare eye round, well done beef, soft tendon, beef tripe and meatballs). I typically order the ‘combo’ phở when I go to a new phở place in an attempt to try everything out. The broth was really good and definitely had a brighter and bolder flavor profile than Le’s Phở.

Close up of noodles

I dug into my noodles and found them all stuck together. Fortunately, it was easy to untangle, but I was a bit annoyed. At least the noodles weren’t overcooked. All of the meat in the phở was good and I really liked how they cooked the tendon. Overall, I was pleased with my meal and am willing to go to Phở 888 over Le’s Phở.

Phở 888
1137 W Argyle St
Chicago, IL 60640
(773) 907-8838
http://www.yelp.com/biz/pho-888-chicago

This entry was posted in Vietnamese and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

