Meet My Feline Friday: Rolling Rolling Rolling and Some Mitsuwa Foodstuffs

Meet My Feline Friday is a weekly post on cats, mostly mine. If you would like a cat to be featured or perhaps found something cat-related you want to share, let me know!

Sometimes Pepper likes to engage in rolling around on the bed. An activity that requires minimal effort and maximum bed hogging.

Some paw movement for emphasis. Just some, not too much.

And a paw crossover to finish off the bed rolling routine. And for once, she looked at the camera so we have a shot of her pretty green eyes. Err, I mean, eye.

In an effort to feed my viewers some visual foodstuffs, I wanted to share food that BE and I eat whenever we visit Mitsuwa (Chicago location). In this display case there are some lovely cakes and well, the cakes are a lie. They’re in a lovely little bakery called Mont Blanc that is nearby Mitsuwa and are NOT in Hippo Bakery.

BE got a ramen set from Santouka at Mitsuwa’s food court: shoyu ramen and a side of ikura don (prepared fish eggs on white rice).

I got miso ramen, but in this photo, BE gave me his shoyu tamago (hard boiled egg marinated in soy sauce) from his ramen set. Awww~! 🙂

We split a sushi set that we snagged from the prepared food areas. Sushi actually goes well with ramen as a side dish, believe it or not. Don’t knock it unless you try it.

So back to the cakes from Monc Blanc Bakery. Here’s a matcha cake slice. This was really good. Very light flavor and not heavy at all.

Here is their name sake’s cake, the monc blanc. It has a chestnut filling on the inside and there are layers of cream, chestnut cream, and custard with a bit of fruit on the top. I really liked the chestnut flavors and could do without the other bits, but still, pretty decent.

And lastly, the strawberry shortcake. the strawberry itself was delicious and had a lovely sweet glaze on it. The rest of the cake was okay. Not awesome, but good enough. Certainly better than most other cakes I’ve had though. In the meantime, hope you all are ready for a lot of future blog posts! I want to celebrate my blog’s ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY with lots of posts for all of my readers. I hope you’ll join me in celebrating one year of tasty foodstuffs with Pepper and me. 😀

Remember, if you have a cat or want to share something cat related, e-mail me!

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meet My Feline Friday: Rolling Rolling Rolling and Some Mitsuwa Foodstuffs

  1. PepperBento says:

    Pepper is so cute!

    Being a Pepper myself I know cute laziness is essential.
    My husband said “It’s you!” when he read about Pepper rolling around on the bed for maximum bed hogging. Heehee.

    The dinner and cakes look so tasty.

    I especially like the look of the Matcha cake and of course the adorable face on the strawberry cake.

    -Pepper

    • Ms. Nao says:

      Haha! It’s really great to hear from you. Who would’ve thought that another Pepper would come visit my cat, Pepper? I hope you enjoyed your visit and that you stick around for more Pepper-isms! 🙂

Leave a Reply

