Meet My Feline Friday: If You Need a Cat, Hyde Park Cats is a Great Place!

Meet My Feline Friday is a weekly post on cats, mostly mine. If you would like a cat to be featured or perhaps found something cat-related you want to share, let me know!

No Pepper this week, but let me introduce you to Meeka, a lovely kitty that was found hanging around 58th street and was brought out of the streets by Hyde Park Cats! All the cat photos are from Hyde Park Cats and many of them are available for adoption!

I know I hadn’t updated last week’s Meet My Feline Friday so I decided to skip it and move forward with other posts.

I’ve been following the Hyde Park Cats’ (HPC) blog for a while now and think they’re doing great work with the south side cat community.

Though, these cats have this “Please take me home” look to them. It makes me sad. 😦

HPC helps stray, feral, and needy cats and kittens in Chicago’s Hyde Park neighborhood. From my understanding, it’s a volunteer run group and does wonders to help our their local kitties. Here’s some happily adopted cats lounging around in their new digs.

They always update with their latest kitty find, and a lot of these precious beauties are available for adoption. Sometimes there’s mommy cats with kittens found and then the mom cat gets tnr’d (trapped, neutered and released). And if possible, kittens are taken care of when they’re old enough and get taken into their forever homes!

TNR’ing is important for the cat population because you don’t want over population of cats and orphaned kittens that go on to reproduce without any TNR’ing.

Aren’t the cats here wonderful? I always love seeing the latest cat they’ve managed to save from a kill shelter or from the cruel streets.

And say, if you want to help them, they accept donations via their paypal form, cat food, blankets, anything kitty related and you can foster them too! Check them out, you won’t be disappointed!

Remember, if you have a cat or want to share something cat related, e-mail me!

This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meet My Feline Friday: If You Need a Cat, Hyde Park Cats is a Great Place!

  1. pussincahoots says:

    The cat in the fourth picture (fluffy black and white) is beautiful. Looks a lot like my late sister, Shelley.

  2. bettyjrex says:

    D’aaaw, a great cause. My local animal shelter, Red Door Animal Shelter, is mostly cat-centric, but they take in rabbits too. It’s a shame we can’t do these guys a favor and just adopt them all, but it’s comforting that even a small gesture like donating blankets or food can make a slight difference.

    • Ms. Nao says:

      Awww, rabbits are so cute. I am a big supporter of these adoption agencies because there’s a ton of animals that need forever homes!

Leave a Reply

